Timothy Andrew Plattner

Please contact me using timothy@cs.ucla.edu.
Last updated on June 19, 1995.

Who is Tim Plattner?

I haven't a clue. I used to pretty simple, back when my whole world was eating, sleeping, crying, and creating a massive waste explosion by dirtying countless non-biodegradeable diapers.

Since this bygone era in my life, I have had a few accomplishments, plenty of failures, and maybe even some fun. Currently, I am about to encounter a whole new chapter in my life, as I have just graduated from UCLA's M.S. in Computer Science, and am off to New Jersey to work for the Operations Technology Center for ATT Bell Laboratories.

Now, obviously, this is an awfully big move for me, since I have lived in California since I was three years of age. It won't be all bad, since I DO get to leave Los Angeles for the first time in six years (I got a B.S in Cybernetics at UCLA as well), and, as any person who grew up in Norther California (specifically Saratoga) can attest, Los Angeles is the root of all evil.

Computer Science

As I mentioned in my intro, I will soon be working for the most successful research institution in the history of the world:

I will be working in the Operations Technology group in the Red Hills office in Middletown New Jersey. OTC, which, as near as I can figure, is responsible for the transfer of technology from the pure research groups of Murray Hills, to the more development oriented groups near Holmdel.

I will be working on the NGLN: the Next Generation Lightwave Network. No, I have absolutely no clue what that is, or where I fit in. I've been told that it's a new optical fiber network that will far exceed any available today. Whatever it is, it's a really cool name!

As Bell Laboratories will soon find out, most of my experience is in databases and some artificial intelligence, but with very little network experience. I have worked for Hewlett-Packard's HP/SQL division, ROLM/Siemens' PBX software development division, Sun Microsystem's Corporate Market Planning division (yes, I know it doesn't fit my character or skills, but I was in high school so I didn't have much choice).

Additionally, I work as a research assistant on the Knowledgebase Multimedia Medical Distributed Database System at UCLA, and as a contractor for the EyeBase project (an opthamological database system of which I don't wish to write right now).

I am completely fluent in the following languages:

I also have some minor experience with the following languages:

I'm sure that there are others, but I'm kind of sick of listing these things.


When I am not working, sports tend to contribute to much of the time I spend playing. Of course, I have my favorite teams. In the pro ranks, they are:

and in college sports, I of course am slightly (or completely, overwhelmingly, if you'd like) bias towards the 1995 NCAA Collegiate Basketball, Volleyball, and Softball (not to mention Women's tennis singles and doubles, men's 200 meter, mens and women's shotput and discus and I may have forgotton some more individual events) champions:


I have many hobbies, some of which have evolved from my childhood, some of which are newer:

Well, that about does it for me. Now you know more about me than my mother, well, at least within an order of magnitude or two. I hope you enjoyed my home page, and if you have questions or comments, please let me know.